Twitch TV partypokerTV is Live Now - Watch live on Twitch

Saying the WPT Online Series was a roaring success is one of the understatements of the year. The inaugural festival drew in poker players from around the world, each aiming to become a World Poker Tour champion.

A total of 94-events took place across 29 days of intense poker action. Those tournaments attracted 111,183 entries and saw a massive $52,956,050 paid out. Those incredible figures were achieved thanks to your superb support, particularly in the three flagship events of the series: WPT500, WPT Online Championship, and WPTDeepStacks.

All Three Flagship Events Smashed Their Guarantees

Christian Jeppsson

Sweden’s Christian Jeppsson became a member of the exclusive WPT Champions Club after being crowned the WPT Online Championship champion.

Jeppsson won his $3,200 seat for a fraction of the cost online at partypoker before turning that into a cool $923,785. Russia’s Viktor Ustimov finished second behind Jeppsson and walked away with $865,542 for his amazing deep run.

British pro Jareth East secured the largest prize of his career to-date by triumphing over a 3-554-strong field to bank $557,658. Besting such a massive field is no easy task especially when you find yourself heads-up against a player of Jon Van Fleet’s calibre. Van Fleet, of course, is a former MILLIONS Online champion. He had to make do with second place in this tournament, a result that saw his bankroll swell by $392,717.

UK-based German Fabio Sperling won the other flagship event, the WPT500. Sperling finished on top of the payout table after a four-handed deal. Sperling scooped the $281,125 and the title while runner-up Walter Treccarich walked away with $235,666.

Markus Prinz and Christopher Putz were the other players involved in the deal. They collected $202,012 and $187,289 respectively and doing so from only a $550 buy-in. Quite incredible.

High Rollers and Multiple Winners

Elio Fox

Elsewhere, there were six-figure scores for the likes of Sam Greenwood and Elio Fox. Greenwood won one of the $10,300 High Roller events for $257,250. The Canadian has tasted success several times on the partypoker LIVE circuit so it was fitting he did the same online.

Fox netted $565,500 for his Super High Roller event victory. Dan Smith and Charlie Carrel also got their hands on Super High Roller Bowl prizes that weighed in at $555,503 and $600,250 respectively.

The series had it all, including a handful of multiple winners. WPT Online Championship runner-up Viktor Ustimov, David Ivers, Alexandr Trofimov and the former online world number one Niklas Astedt each bagged two titles.

Hermance Blum, WPT Europe Vice President, said: “We are thrilled and grateful for the players’ response during the inaugural series. WPT with partypoker will continue our efforts to bring the best players experience with the exciting WPT World Online Championships this summer, as well as keeping our fans entertained with original content.”

partypoker Managing Director, Tom Waters, said: “I am delighted with the support that we received from players for WPT Online, with accumulated prize pools far exceeding expectations. This is a testament to both the popularity and strength of the WPT brand and also the schedule that the team put together.”

“We wanted WPT Online to deliver an authentic poker experience, with limited re-entries and entry days into the tournaments and the huge prize pools highlight the popularity of the structures and formats of the series. The events were full of many of the world’s best poker players as well as an abundance of players who managed to win their seats into potentially life-changing tournaments. It was a pleasure working with an excellent WPT team who share our vision for poker and I’m looking forward to working with them again for future online series.”

Ready to join the party?

If you’re ready to jump into the action, then click here to download partypoker and get started!

If you already have an account with us, click here to open partypoker and hit the tables!


Comments are closed.