Twitch TV partypokerTV is Live Now - Watch live on Twitch

Christoph Moritz is now a World Poker Tour champion after he came out on top of an 840-strong field in the WPT Montreal Playground Closer event.

Only 125 of those 840 starters made it through to Day 2 of this $530 buy-in tournament and all 125 of those returning players netted a slice of the $420,000 prize pool.

Team Online’s Jaime Staples cashed in 109th place while other luminaries such as Niklas Astedt, Jerry Odeen, Christopher Frank, Robin Ylitalo, Will Kassouf, and Pascal Hartmann also saw a return on their investment.

Jamie Staples finished in the money places

Everyone at the nine-handed final table locked up more than $5,500 for their efforts when bounties were included.

Roland Rokita’s time at the final table was limited as he fell in ninth-place. Frederic Harbey, Steffan Johanser, and Markus Kuhnen followed suit before former WPTWOC champion Daniel Smyth crashed out in fifth, a result worth a combined $16,575.

David Lopez’s fourth-place finish weighed in at $17,127 while Nguyen Le collected $19,765 when his tournament ended in third place, sending the tournament heads-up.

Moritz and Gavin Hunt fought it out heads-up for the title and a substantial increase in prize money. Moritz defeated Hunt and walked away with the title of champion plus a haul worth $59,732, leaving Hunt to pad his bankroll with $42,739.

WPT Montreal #20 Playground Closer Final Table Results

Place Player Country Prize Bounties
1 Christoph Moritz Germany $28,031 $31,701
2 Gavin Hunt United Kingdom $27,988 $14,751
3 Nguyen Le United Kingdom $18,578 $1,187
4 David Lopez United Kingdom $12,065 $5,062
5 Daniel Smyth Ireland $8,251 $8,324
6 Markus Kuhnen Austria $6,370 $1,546
7 Steffan Johanser Denmark $4,696 $2,640
8 Frederic Harvey Canada $3,742 $3,433
9 Roland Rokita Austria $2,972 $3,539

Thomas Fyrqvist Takes Down High Roller Turbo

Finland’s Thomas Fyrqvist took down the High Roller Turbo event and saw his lifetime winnings increase by $73,327.

The $3,200 buy-in event saw 89 players buy-in, including Team partypoker duo Isaac Haxton and Patrick Leonard whose tournaments ended in 11th and 12th place respectively. This netted them $7,487 and $6,209.

Patrick Leonard missed out on a final table appearance

All seven finalists were paid a five-figure sum and what a final seven they were. Aleksei Barkov of Russia was the first player out of the door, a finish worth $10,730. Benjamin Rolle ($13,018) and Tamas Adamszki ($16,688) followed, before Oliver Weis ($22,681) and Finnish superstar Sami Kelopuro ($32,066) fell by the wayside.

Kelopuro’s untimely demise left fellow Finn Fyrqvist and Jake Schindler as the only players in the hunt for the victory. Fryqvist got the job done and his hands on $73,327, leaving Schindler to secure a $46,987 runner-up prize.

WPT Montreal High Roller Turbo Final Table Results

Place Player Country Prize
1 Thomas Fyrqvist Finland $73,327
2 Jake Schindler Mexico $46,987
3 Sami Kelopuro Finland $32,066
4 Oliver Weis Austria $22,681
5 Tamas Adamszki Hungary $16,688
6 Benjamin Rolle Austria $13,018
7 Aleksei Barkov Russia $10,730

Daniel Dvoress Leads Mike Sexton Classic

Daniel Dvoress

Daniel Dvoress is the man to catch going into Day 2 of the Mike Sexton Classic. Some 125 players bought in for $10,300, smashing the $1 million guarantee in the process.

Day 1 ended when only 21 players remained in the field. Sergi Reixach’s 21st place exit being the final one of the evening. All 20 players are now in the money and will win at least $21,887. The champion, however, banks $294,346 plus a $39,900 donation to a charity of the late Sexton’s family’s choice.

Dvoress (1,805,832) and Ami Barer (1,597,534) are the only players to bag up more than one-million chips and are going to take some stopping when play resumes at 19:05 GMT on February 1.

The rest of the surviving field reads like a who’s who of the poker world. Anssi Kinttala returns third in chips with the likes of Pascal Lefrancois, Mike Watson, and Jon Van Fleet in the top six spots.

Eelis Parssinen, Adrian Mateos, Ali Imsirovic, Niklas Astedt, Christian Jeppsson, and Roberto Romanello are among the stellar names through to Day 2.

Don’t forget to tune into our Twitch channel from 19:30 GMT to watch the final day of the Mike Sexton Classic unfold.

Mike Sexton Classic Top 10 Chips

Place Player Country Chips
1 Daniel Dvoress Canada 1,805,832
2 Ami Barer Canada 1,597,534
3 Anssi Kinttala Finland 924,946
4 Pascal Lefrancois Canada 864,057
5 Mike Watson Canada 804,060
6 Jon Van Fleet Canada 759,344
7 Nino Ullmann Austria 724,857
8 Eelis Parssinen Finland 676,470
9 Aram Zobian Canada 617,204
10 Kevin Macdonald Canada 578,481

Love poker? Join party!

If you’re ready to jump into the action, then click here to download partypoker and get started!

If you already have an account with us, click here to open partypoker and hit the tables!


Comments are closed.