Twitch TV partypokerTV is Live Now - Watch live on Twitch

Ian Frazer won a dramatic turbo heat in London on Monday (February 4) to claim the last spot in the first semi-final of the European Open IV.

The Razor joins heat winners Craig Burgess, GUKPT Grand Final winner Mike Ellis, UK Open Champ Andrew Feldman, Jeff Buffenbarger and Nick Slade in the first semi-final this Thursday night, after beating Ghassan El-Hoss heads-up in the turbo, which lasted less than an hour.


Sitting pretty: Turbo heat winner Ian Frazer

The turbo heat is a new addition to the tournament, fought out by the six runners-up from the first set of heats. The players have 20 seconds to make their move or their hand is dead – and the blinds go up every seven hands. Phew!

It was sure to be a fiery affair with some big names sitting round the table. David Johnson was first to leave and Dave Hancher soon followed after surrendering his stack to be left with just 1,000 in chips with the blinds up to 10/20 as quick as a flash.

The 15/30 level proved too much for Hendon Mobster Barny Boatman who didn’t stand a chance all-in with 10-4 against Frazer’s K-J, and the 2005 European and UK Open champion soon came out on top in an on-running battle with Anthony Nicholls.

Frazer was a massive chip leader going into the heads-up with El-Hoss, and it didn’t take long for him to clean-up. His K-8 was always going to be too strong for the plucky El-Hoss – and the full-house with the 8-10-K-Q-8 board was a warning to the rest that Ian’s got both his game and the cards on his side.

The heats for the second semi get under way Tuesday (February 5) with another strong line up with Ian Woodley and Luke Patten in the mix. WSOP Europe winner Annette Obrestad and runner-up John Tabatabai take on Andy Black and World Open winner Anthony Hardy, while Premier League Poker winner Juha Helppi, Roy “The Boy” Brindley, Roland De Wolfe, and, of course, 11-time WSOP bracelet winner Phil Hellmuth still have to play their heats.


Celebrity qualifying heat:
1) Michael Le Vell (Coronation Street actor) – through to Heat 1, 2) Spoony (DJ), 3) Jack Marsden (Heatbeat actor), 4) Austin Healey (Rugby Union), 5) Wayne Mardle (Darts), 6) Brandon Block (DJ)

Heat 1
1) Craig Burgess – through to semi-final, 2) Dave Hancher – through to turbo heat, 3) Dave Gregory, 4) Achilleas Kallackis, 5) Simon Craig, 6) Michael Le Vell

Heat 2
1) Mike Ellis, 2) Ian Frazer, 3) John Exley, 4) Rob Cooper, 5) Graham Smith, 6) Nathan Lee

Heat 3
1) Andrew Feldman, 2) Ghassan El-Hoss, 3) Leon Loukaides, 4) David Smith, 5) Scott Fenton, 6) Andy Greeksfish

Heat 4
1) Jeff Buffenbarger, 2) Barny Boatman, 3) Dave Garbacz, 4) Albert Sapiano, 5)Piers Shepperson, 6) Ryan Fronda

Heat 5
1) Nick Slade, 2) David Johnson, 3) Jonny Hewston 4) Andy Arnott, 5) Theo Dalton, 6) Christoph Haller

Heat 6
1) Dave Broadhurst, 2) Anthony Nicholl, 3) Jan Peter Jachtmann, 4) Simon Zach, 5) Darren Hickman, 6) Dale Hoy.

Heat 7
1) Phil Curtis, 2) Dixie Dean, through to turbo heat 2, 3) Ben Grundy, 4) Surinder Sunar, 5) Michael McCool, 6) Neil Channing

Turbo Heat 1
1) Ian Frazer, 2) Ghassan El-Hoss, 3) Anthony Nicholls, 4) Barny Boatman, 5) Dave Hancher, 6) David Johnson


Heat 8 – Tuesday, February 5
Luke Patten, Ian Woodley, Steve Holden, Gary Paterson, Tim Flanders, Ashley Hayles.

Heat 9 – Tuesday, February 5
Dave Matte, Annette Obrestad, Andy Black, Anthony Hardy, John Tabatabai, Roberto Romanello

Heat 10 – Wednesday, February 6
Liam Flood, Barry Carter, Bronwyn Campbell, Marty Smyth, Lascelle Barrow, Mohammed Shafiq

Heat 11 – Wednesday, February 6
Ian Cox, Richard Ashby, Marc Goodwin, Roland De Wolfe, Damon Ioannou, Derek Rosenberg

Heat 12 – Thursday, February 7
Phil Hellmuth, John Magill, Juha Helppi, Paul Jackson, Roy Brindley, Darren Brown

Turbo Heat 2 – Thursday, February 7

Semi-final 1 – Thursday, February 7
Craig Burgess, Mike Ellis, Andrew Feldman, Jeff Buffenbarger, Nick Slade, Ian Frazer

Semi-final 2 – Friday, February 8

Final – Friday, February 8


Comments are closed.