Twitch TV partypokerTV is Live Now - Watch live on Twitch

In 1978 the field for the World Series Of Poker was a magical 42 entrants. Each one of them coughed up $10,000 for the privilege to see who truly was the worlds best poker player.

This was the year of the Owl it seemed with Bobby ‘The Owl’ Baldwin turning heads to become the youngest WSOP victor in its history. A title that would change hands just a mere two years later to Stu “The Kid” Ungar.

Was 1978 A Weak Year?

Some players consider the final table in the 1978 event weaker than previous years, most notably due to the absence of previous WSOP winners Johnny Moss, Amarillo Slim, Puggy Pearson, Doyle Brunson and Sailor Roberts who all fell on Day 1.

So Close And Yet So Far…

Yet for one player Crandell Addington 1978 must have been a double whammy of a year that he probally wants to forget. You see this is the second time that he finished second at the WSOP Main Event, the first being in 1974 to Johnny Moss.

From Actor to Director

4 WSOP bracelets, this Hall of Famer moved from behind to cloth to behind the scenes, becoming president for both the Golden Nugget Casino and later the Bellagio Hotel and Casino. Making him a Las Vegas success story in two different fields. If you visit the high stakes signature poker room in the Bellagio you’ll notice it’s called “Bobby’s Room” after Baldwin.

The WSOP 2013 Main Event

Stay upto date as we report from the The WSOP 2013 Main Event! Get all the latest PartyPoker updates from your favourite social media outlets. You can Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook and Google+


Comments are closed.