Responsible Gaming Forschungsprojekt

Die Division on Addiction (DOA) der Cambridge Health Alliance, ein Lehrinstitut der Harvard Medical School und Pionier im Bereich der Suchtforschung, betreibt seit 2005 gemeinsam mit partypoker Studien zum Spielverhalten in den Bereichen Sportwetten, Casino, Poker und anderen Online-Games. Die wissenschaftliche Analyse und die Ergebnisse der Studien haben zu einer massiven Verlagerung in der Suchtforschung geführt. Den einzigartigen Charakter der Studien beschrieb Howard J. Shaffer, Ph.D., außerordentlicher Professor an der Harvard Medical School und Leiter der Division on Addiction, folgendermaßen:

"Zum ersten Mal überhaupt, verwenden die Studien in Zusammenarbeit mit partypoker genaue Aufzeichnungen von computerbasierten Internetspielen, um tatsächliches Spielverhalten zu untersuchen und nicht das, woran die Menschen sich erinnern oder bereit waren zu sagen."

Die Ergebnisse der Studien liefern der internationalen Forschergemeinschaft einerseits die empirische Basis, die im Bereich der Suchtforschung lange Zeit fehlte. Sie helfen andererseits auch partypoker, seine Vision einer "sicheren und unterhaltsamen Spielumgebung" umzusetzen, d. h. ein Spieleangebot bereitzustellen, das gestützt auf ein wissenschaftlich fundiertes Responsible-Gaming-Konzept sowohl unterhaltsam als auch sicher

Responsible Gaming research project

A pioneer of addiction research, the Division on Addiction (DOA), Cambridge Health Alliance, a Harvard Medical School teaching affiliate, has conducted a large scale research cooperation with partypoker between 2005 and 2015, examining gaming behaviour in sports betting, casino, poker and other online games. The scientific analysis and results of the studies have brought about a paradigm shift in addiction research. The unique character of the studies is described by Howard J. Shaffer, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School, Director, Division on Addiction, The Cambridge Health Alliance, a teaching affiliate of Harvard Medical School, as follows:

"For the first time ever the studies conducted in cooperation with partypoker use the accurate records from computer-based internet gaming to study actual gaming rather than what people remembered or were willing to say."

The results of the studies have not only provided the international scientific community with important findings about the nature of online gaming. They also ensure that partypoker can implement its vision of a "safe and recreational gaming environment" on the basis of a scientifically validated Responsible Gaming concept.

You can view the findings of the Gaming Research Project by reading the study: 
"Toward a paradigm shift in Internet gambling research: From opinion and self-report to actual behavior"